Do You Have to Affirm a Literal 6-Day Creation and a Global Flood to Be a Christian?


I’ve been having rounds with atheistic evolutionists and Old Earth Creationists alike lately, so I thought I’d bury this issue briefly and concisely.

Romans 10:9 says, “If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.” Period. No mention of a young earth. No mention of Noah or the Ark and the extent of the flood.

Granted, other passages put a few qualifications on this minimum criteria for salvation [you can’t say you love God and yet hate your brother, and you can’t deny that Christ came in the flesh, for example. And no fair making up a Jesus all your own. There’s only One and He alone is the lone means of salvation], but even in the minimum implied theological knowledge required in the salvation transaction [as it were] there’s no way one could insist that a particular Christian was not a Christian simply because that Christian did not believe his entire Bible.

It is sad when fellow brothers and sisters in Christ purposely undermine the historical reliability and veracity of God’s revealed Word simply because, for the present, it contradicts the word of finite men who don’t know it all [and never will] and whose minds are at emnity with God – so long as they call it science.

Sad enough that they themselves embrace this sort of willful error where they call God’s Word into question without batting an eye and make pretense that His Word must be calibrated against 21st Century science, despite the affirmations of a young earth and a global Noachim flood from Jesus Himself and the Apostles. They also lead others into this error, calling Truth folly and error truth – again, so long as they call it science. By doing so, they undermine the authority of Scripture and open the door for all sorts of erroneous interpretation. Many reject Christianity wholesale. Others simply pick and choose what they will believe.

Their rejection of the historical reliability of Genesis 1-12 is the Wedge that tears down the religion that they so dearly love! What folly!

Yet there is hope! Eleven years ago, the woman who became my wife asked me, “What about evolution?” I replied, “Well, I suppose that God could have used evolution.” But God directed my studies, convicted my heart and impressed and affirmed the reliability of His revealed Word upon me until, slowly but surely, I came to realize that He meant what He said. He created everything by fiat in six solar days.

I pray that those who disagree with me on this issue will allow the Holy Spirit to guide them likewise into all truth.

-Sirius Knott

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Socrates Puppette says:

    “Do You Have to Affirm a Literal 6-Day Creation and a Global Flood to Be a Christian?”

    So what is it, yes or no?

    ==Soc Puppette

    1. Sirius says:

      @SocPuppet aka Olorin,

      Read it again. Don’t just skim it this time. The answer will be apparent.

      -Sirius Knott

  2. evedyahu says:

    I appreciate very much your commitment to the Word of God.

    However – you mention the expression: 6 solar days.

    How can you do that when the sun is clearly created on the 4th day???
    This is the sort of question that I cannot answer if a young man/Christian asked me…?
    I would appreciate and answer. Thanks!

    1. Sirius says:

      @evedyahu,

      Thank you for your question. I took the time to respond to it in an entirely separate post, as I didn’t want to give it too little attention:

      https://siriusknotts.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/six-solar-days-or-why-god-took-his-time/

      -Sirius Knott

Leave a comment