Why I Recently Dropped the Rev From My Signature


nameFor those of you who’ve noticed [some haven’t], I recently went through my sites and removed the “Rev” from my name. I want to assure you that I’m still a Gospel preacher and that I’m still ordained.

So why did I do it?

Well, there are some who make the argument that putting the “Rev” or “Reverend” in front of your name is a violation of the intent of Scriptures like Matthew 23:7-11 and Job 32:21-22. They might have a point. I don’t know. Frankly, I don’t care. I’ve never been called “Reverend Breeden” without telling someone to simply call me Tony. I myself only ever pronounced it “Rev Tony” and only then because it had a certain laid back ring to it. Bottom line: I’ve never cared about the title. To me, it’s always just been a way to let folks know I marry and bury ’em.

So why did I do it?

I’ve dropped it because certain religious opponents [Pharisees] I’ve engaged over the years have used that title to poison the well. Instead of addressing my arguments, they insinuate that I think I’m the Great Big Whoopteedoo and say things like “He calls himself a ‘reverend’ which is a title that belongs to God alone” or “He calls himself a ‘reverend’, an unbiblical title.” In each case, they use it to suggest that I’m arrogant, religious and that everything else I say is probably wrong since I use that title.

So to take away their chance to throw in a cheap shot and bias other folks when it comes to my arguments, I happily discard a title I never cared about much anyway.

In the end, the only thing that matters is walking worthy of the vocation God has called me to [Eph. 4:1]. I’m sure they’ll dream up other names to call me instead. ;]

Regards,
Tony, DefGen.org

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Cheri Fields says:

    Sigh, you can’t please some people. Did you know *I* (as opposed to all the other products that do the same thing) must seriously lack intellect because I can’t seem to spell out “for”, using 4 instead?
    But, I don’t blame you for taking away their excuse. It wasn’t accomplishing anything, why not clear the air on your side?
    God bless. 🙂

  2. jrobbiep says:

    Not only will they dream up other names, but they’ll probably dream up places to which they will tell you to go, too! 🙂

  3. jesusknight says:

    Some folks just like to bicker, because its all they know how to do…
    This just shows them that if they brow-beat you enough, they might get what they want. If you got rid of it because you don’t care for it, that’s different. Bottom line, never give in to an opponent just because they wear you out – but because its right. Just my two cents.. You are a decent ‘Rev’ with or without the title, as far as I am concerned! 😀
    I get a lot of lousy comments because of my online name (I know its not a title, per say), but all I say is “tough noogies to them..”

    1. Tony Breeden says:

      Thanks for the kind words of encouragement ;]

  4. Nuts to the doubters as usual. I am a christian, which means that I must do those things god has laid out for me, or go to hell. If I read in his word to pray, then I do it. If I read that HOLY And REVEREND is gods name, Then I should not use the words to introduce myself., as I am saying I’m god ,John ,or god Tony or etc. Unlike the church that says I will be a god in heaven, if I have a group of wives and ashere to thier tenet’s, I will be glad if I just make it to that glorious place. Kudo’s to you mr. Tony,.as it seems that you have read the orders from above and are following the same.I praise you for your selflessness.

Leave a Reply

