Answers Book 4 Teens (AB4T) – By Bodie Hodge & Tommy Mitchell, with Ken Ham (New Leaf Publishing) 2011


My own drift from traditional Christianity to agnostic began shortly after I transferred from a Bible-affirming Christian school to a public high school. When I questioned evolution and the age of the Earth in my physical science class, the teacher scolded me and told me I only believed in Creationism because that’s what my parents had told me to believe. I learned to stop questioning to avoid being singled out for mockery. Inevitably, my rosy one-sided indoctrination into evolution as scientific fact was eventually successful, especially since no one provided me with scientific answers for Creationism – but this was partly because I didn’t ask! You see, that teacher had convinced me that my beliefs were inherited and I was determined to “think for myself,” so I abandoned the resource God gave me in my parents’ wisdom. Do you see how subtle the Enemy is? Eventually, I dropped out of church altogether. I retained a fuzzy half-held notion of God, but the cult of naturalism had destroyed my faith in Christianity itself. It had destroyed my religion.

Fortunately, God wasn’t ready to give up on me just yet. But when I look back on a decade wasted to unbelief, I wish I had something like the Answers Book 4 Teens back then. Something to answer the questions I had. Something to answer the challenges my science teacher threw at me. Something to give me reason to stand firm. Something to give to my friends to help them stay the course. You see, I wasn’t the only one shaken loose from the faith by the wedge of evolution and millions of years. Few of us eventually returned to the fold. Most graduated from church when they graduated high school, never to return.

The Answers Book 4 Teens [AB4T], the newest addition to Answers in Genesis’ popular Answer Book series, does an admirable job of answering 15 relevant questions that teens of this decade [or any other] are asking about the Bible, God, the origins debate and morality…

Read the rest of this review at The Bookwyrm’s Lair

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group Book review program on CreationConversations.com <http://www.creationconversations.com/group/bookreviewersfornewleafpublishinggroup>. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

