What’s Wrong With Church 4: I Call Them “Special People” Cults


I can’t count the number of times I’ve visited a church, liked the people, liked the worship, liked the preaching and found out after about a month or two that there was simply NOTHING to do there. I’m not saying it was boring. I’m one of those guys who likes to dig in, roll up his sleeves and work! Add to that the fact that I sing, teach and preach. I don’t want to warm a pew. A certain measure of the Gospel has been laid to my account. Likewise my talents indicate that God has given me something He wants done BY ME.

Yet I go to some churches and literally everything there might be to do is being done by the local Special People Cult. Call them the core group or the ministry team or just the pastor’s friends and family. What ever you call them, their slogan is Us Four and No More. Oh, they welcome new members, especially because they need someone to minister to! Too often these churches find themselves suffering from Too many chiefs not enough indians syndrome because, well, most folks below the age of fifty [and many above that age] don’t just want to warm the bench. They want to get involved. They want to do something. Anything.

And not just within a church service. I’m not just talking about preaching, singing and taking up the offering. Some of us just want to help out with visitation or the church rummage sale for crying out loud.

We all have a place and a ministry, according to the Bible. Churches like this remind me that my place is someplace else.

–Sirius Knott

Read more of the What’s Wrong With Church series!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. hopegnosis says:

    Thank you for the What’s wrong with church series. I wish I could say that this isn’t something that can generalized to other churches, but it can. In some cases, I believe church leaders are threatened by too many enthusiastic volunteers–who take the word and work of God seriously.

  2. Sirius says:

    Well that’s the rub, isn’t it? Good churchmen are told that we are to “lay hands on no man suddenly” which they translate to mean “don’t put anyone into ministry before you’ve had a chance to put them under a miscroscope for a while.” [Ironically, the verse is one that St. Paul takes directly from the OT, where the context is that we are not to simply jump on the bandwagon and assume someone’s guilt, but only come to such conclusions after due consideration of the evidence. i.e.– It really has little to do with church participation]

    While that’s pretty good advice, considering the possibilities for abuse and heresy, oftentimes ministry opportunities are simply, well, already taken. By said “special people,” usually friends and family of that congregation’s dominant personality. What that church is looking for is an audience, a congregation, pew-warmers, warm bodies… dare I say, fans. Put they aren’t looking for fellow ministers.

    My solution? Find a church that will use you.
    Or simply do your particular ministry, if possible, without the approval of your local church. [Seriously, is “No one would let me” gonna be a valid excuse to “If you did not do it to the least of these, you did not do it to Me” when we finally make it Home?]

    Which brings up another issue entirely: Aren’t you supposed to be “covered” by the authority of a local church? I say, if possible. If not, I’m sure God would prefer we serve rather than simmer.

    –Sirius Knott

  3. oldfashionedgirl07 says:

    Excellent thoughts! I absolutely agree! Bench warming has never been appealing to me either. I’m in love with my church (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints/Mormons) because there are so many things that need to be done, or that need to be taken care of. And, there is never an excuse of, no one would let me. It is a church of volunteers! Seriously, if you are looking for a church that will put you to work….

  4. Sirius says:

    There’s no way to say this politely, so I apologize in advance.

    It’s ironic that that you left a pro-Mormon comment to a post whose title includes the word CULT, for that is exactly what the LDS is.

    Mormon doctrines are heretical and no wonder since its founder was a lying scam artist. I’m sorry, a lying scam artist who grabbed up money and land everywhere he could! His fictional and laughable Book of Mormon contradicts the Bible, history and archaeology and is about the most racist religious work I’ve ever had the misfortune to pick up.

    The Bible warned us that in the last days there would be false prophets. I’m sorry you’ve been duped by one. If you’d like to learn more on the subject of Mormonism, particular its origin, its differences with true Christianity, its “prophet” and its failed prophecies, I suggest fellow Christian blogger Brooks Robinson.

    –Sirius Knott

  5. melike3 says:

    I know you will have a comment for me and my “cult”, but we are the one religion that is different than any other christian religion. We all take an active share in our ministry, we do not go to get our ears tickled, but we have to work. I think some or most of our beliefs differ from yours, we try very hard to fallow the bible, even as our understandings change and the light gets brighter we change along with it. We have made mistakes and have no problem admitting/clarifying/changing, just as many of the bible writers/accounts did. Not many religions can change, unless it is for the worse (morally speaking). I am a one of Jehovah’s witnesses. I do find it interesting you do find fault with many the churches, as many now JW’s once did.
    -being bashing now!

    1. Jehovah’s Witness,

      This is extremely off-topic, but you’ve laid down the gauntlet, so to speak…

      Saying that your cult has made mistakes is a drastic understatement. It has made false prophecies, which are on another level altogether. Deuteronomy 18:20-22 explicitly states:

      “But the prophet, which shall presume to speak a word in my name, which I have not commanded him to speak, or that shall speak in the name of other gods, even that prophet shall die. And if thou say in thine heart, How shall we know the word which the LORD hath not spoken? When a prophet speaketh in the name of the LORD, if the thing follow not, nor come to pass, that is the thing which the LORD hath not spoken, but the prophet hath spoken it presumptuously: thou shalt not be afraid of him.”

      A false prophecy is not a “mistake;” no, God says it is a lie from the mouth a false prophet.

      Furthermore, if you do not believe that Jesus Christ was our Creator God [John 1:1-18] and that He rose bodily from the dead [Romans 10:9], you are still in your sins and are going to hell.

      Examine yourself to see whether you be of the faith. Repent and believe!

      -revTony

Leave a Reply

