Creation Cryptids: Unicorns in the Bible


I was just browsing around over at Answersin Genesis.org and I found a wonderful article by Dr. Elizabeth Mitchell called Unicorns in the Bible?

In the article, Dr. Mitchell covers the Biblical references and descriptions of unicorns, noting how they were described as actual animals, not fantastical creatures. She then goes on to speculate how the Biblical unicorn might have been an Elasmotherium, an auroch or even an Indian rhinoceros.

I especially like how it ends:

“The Bible is clearly describing a real animal… not the fantasy animal that has been popularized in movies and books. To think of the biblical unicorn as a fantasy animal is to demean God’s Word, which is true in every detail.”

Good cryptozoological research and exposition from a Creationist viewpoint!

–Sirius Knott

6 Comments Add yours

  1. As fantastical as this sounds its probably referring to a sort of wild ox that was alive back then commonly found in cave paintings and such. There are a few verses that use the same Hebrew word found in Job that seem to give this animal an appearance of having more then 1 horn(Deut.33:17). The Vulgate and the Septuagint use words for a sort of rhinoceros in their translations(unicornis). So its either referring to a rhinoceros or an extinct wild ox that existed then.

  2. Sirius says:

    Vaild suggestion.

    Of course, the point of the article is that the biblical unicorn is a real animal. We mustn’t let notions of the fantasy creature who uses the name more famously get in the way of identifying the actual creature mentioned. Nor may we disqualify the Bible’s accuracy because it uses an archaic term [unicorn] which now has a different meaning than it did then.

    It is also possible that the biblical unicorn is synonymous with Emela-Ntouka, which [along with Mokele-Mbembe] is a good candidate for the biblical Behemoth. It should be noted that Mokele-Mbembe and Emela-Ntouka have been described in a manner where either could be consistent with the biblical Behemoth, but they each bear a distinctive feature that would disqualify both from being Behemoth. Mokele-Mbembe is a long-necked relict sauropod from all descriptions, while Emela-Ntouka is a horned animal consistent with a rhino, wild ox or relict ceratopsian. behemoth would have to be one or the other. Ironically, both Mokele-Mbembe and Emela-Ntouka hail from the Likoula swamp region of the Congo!

    –Sirius Knott

  3. Dale Stuckwish says:

    Yes I believe that unicorns are real creatures that are described in the Bible (Word of God). In the book, “Biblical Cryptozoology:Revealed Cryptids of the Bible.” I have a chapter on unicorns. I believe the creature they call Emela-Ntouka in Africa could be this creature. Also I believe that the creature they call Mokele-Mbembe could be Behemoth (sauropod dinosaur). I also have a chapter in the book about Behemoth. I believe Behemoth and the unicorn are two different creatures described in the Bible. The book can be viewed on Amazon.com/books Sincerely in Christ, Dale Stuckwish

    1. Sirius says:

      Dale,

      I considered Emela-Ntouka as a candidate for the Biblical unicorn until I ran across an account by medeival historian Ibn Fadlan wherein he describes a “unicorn” of that area of the world that sounded more like a relict Elasmotherium. In my Heere Be Dragones: Relict Dinosaurs & Dragon Legends presentation [one of my live Creation Cryptids presentations], I hold this as my primary theory, but I do specifically mention Emela-Ntouka as a candidate if the Biblical unicorn is NOT analogous to the one described by Ibn Fadlan. It is rather conditional and the Bible hasn’t much of a physical description in the Job passage.

      I agree that Behemoth and the unicorn are different creatures.

      I’ll check out the book.

      On a professional note, I’d like to thank you for making a stand for the historical veracity of God’s Word in Genesis by signing the Creation Letter. I look forward to reading more about this subject from fellow Young Earth Creationists [or as I usually term us, Biblical Creationists].

      Sirius Knott

  4. Dale Stuckwish says:

    Dear Sirius Knott, How was the book? Can you please give a review of it after you read it. Please give me an Email when you have read it. Thank you! Sincerely in Christ, Dale Stuckwish

    1. Sirius says:

      Dale,

      I will most certainly do so when the book arrives. I’ve ordered it only just recently, so I’m still waiting at present.

      I’ll keep in touch.

      -Rev Tony Breeden
      Sirius Knott

Leave a Reply

